Rajapaksa’s clan Podujana Party (SLPP) won 145 seats in SriLanka’s parliamentary election

SriLanka: Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa’s Sri Lanka Podujana Party (SLPP) won 145 seats and can also count on the support of at least five allies in the 225-member legislature, according to the results released on Friday.

The SLPP’s main opponent obtained just 54 seats in Wednesday’s vote, which saw more than 75 percent of the 16.2 million eligible voters cast their ballots.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa took twitter to express his gratitute. “It is by belief that that the expectation to have a Parliament that will enable the implementation of my ‘vision for prosperity’ policy will be reality tomorrow,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *